A Toast to Tiffany!

“Just a small town girl, living in a lonely blog world” — My hysterical attempt to blogging.

Cous Cous Chopped Salad August 10, 2012

Filed under: Sides — tiffanyrose913 @ 4:59 pm

Have you ever eaten something, and remember it, and crave it until you eat it again?  Well for me it is this salad.  My friend Ali, made this salad when we were over our friend’s house to welcome home their newborn daughter, and now Chessie is over a year old, and I can’t believe I haven’t made this salad yet for myself!  It is so yummy, and refreshing, and it is perfect for the summer!  I couldn’t find currants though, so I just used craisins with pomegranite – it was a perfect substitute.  So thanks Ali for this recipe!  It was just as delicious as I remembered 🙂  And good luck , because she is ready to have a baby any day now!! 

Chopped Salad: (this is for one person, just multiply for the number of people you are serving!)
2oz-Israeli or “Pearl” Couscous
2oz-Chopped Arugula
2oz-Chopped tomatoes (or bruscheta if it is available)
2 oz of a protein (I use avocado, you can use salmon or chicken as well)
1/2 oz-Asiago
1/2 oz-Pepitas
1/2 oz-Dried black currants(Whole Foods)
1 oz-Super sweet dried corn (Community super market has it, not too many places carry it)

The dressing makes enough for 4-6 servings
1/2 cup-Pesto
1 rough chop shallot
1 cup-Aioli
1 cup-Buttermilk\
1/2 tsp-Black pepper
Juice of half of a lemon
More salt/pepper to taste
1.  Add the first three ingredients to the food proscessor and blend thorougly
2.  With motor running add buttermilk
3.  Add remaining ingredients
*It isn’t the same when the dressing is on the side, once you have the salad made I would mix the dressing into it!

 

Leave a Reply

