A Toast to Tiffany!

“Just a small town girl, living in a lonely blog world” — My hysterical attempt to blogging.

Sundried Tomato/Red Pepper Risotto July 2, 2008

Filed under: Pasta — tiffanyrose913 @ 3:29 pm

This is my 50th post!! WOO HOO!

I admit it – I have been staring at the box of Arborio rice in my cupboard, and didn’t want to ever use it.  I was afraid of making risotto.  But on Monday, I needed some comfort food and decided to give it a try.  I saw a recipe on a great blog – Noodle Nights & Muffin Mornings, and decided to give it a try.  I did change a few things, but not alot – It was delicious!  So glad I found this blog!  It did take ALOT of stirring – but I am so proud that I got over the phobia!!

 

Extra Virgin Olive Oil
3 cloves garlic(minced)
1/4 white wine
1 1/2 cup arborio rice
1/2 cup roasted red and yellow peppers
1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes
1 shallot
2 links cooked chicken sausage(I used Roasted Red Pepper Chicken Sausage – then cut up into bite sized pieces)
4 cups broth  (placed in sauce pan and brought to a boil)
1/4 cup fresh basil(coarsely chopped)
4 oz. (1/2 cup) goat cheese
1/4 cup Romano cheese
salt
pepper

Place peppers, garlic, shallot, and sundried tomatoes in food processor and pulse.

Add wine and arborio rice to saute pan. Once wine is absorbed add one cup of chicken broth, peppers, sundried tomatoes, shallots,  and sausage. Reduce heat to low and let simmer. As liquid is absorbed, continue to add one cup of broth until all broth has been absorbed. Remove from heat; add goat cheese, Romano and basil. Mix until combined. Add salt and pepper to taste. Let sit for five minutes before serving. Garnish with fresh parsley.

 

Leave a Reply

